Mod or Stock?

Mitch_night_web

So i have a 93 G102 that i am crazy about but i cant get straight where i want to go with it. Part of me loves the idea of it being stock as and maintaining it and get it running like a dream, the other part wants to by a donor applause and do the 1.6 conversion…
Taking it off the road for an extended period isn’t really in the equation as its my daily driver. So i was wondering…
Are there any simple mods i can do to improve the performance a little? Extractors / exhaust etc? (remember I’m new to the mechanics thing so don’t have any idea what I am talking about, feel free to school me :+1:)
I’m not adverse to throwing a little cash/time at it to make this car even more fun, but struggle with the idea of stepping away from being stock.
I would love to here some suggestions or anything people have done here that have made their rides a little more enjoyable…

If this add is genuine and the applause has 100,000 on it, its seems to good to pass up!
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/morphett-vale/cars-vans-utes/1990-daihatsu-applause/1157026241

Mate your car looks very clean. I wouldn’t mess with the outside too much. Leave it looking very clean but I would personally not be backwards in changing the motor out to the applause motor. It won’t look that different under the bonnet given that you have to use a lot of original parts to make it work in the G 100 anyway and give you a lot more enjoyment.
Maybe look at mods that don’t detract from its original look like simple suspension mods and possibly even a brake upgrade. This will give you a lot of fun whilst retaining its original look and appeal that you are chasing.

Thanks @Paulep82,