L700 blowing smoke

Hi all,
I’ve got an 01 Cuore that I’m having troubles with. It blows gray smoke when revving, is burning oil and smells of it when running.

I’ve done a compression test and a leak down test and all surprisingly looks good. I had 11% 12% 10% leak with no obvious hissing in the usual places.

I’m no mechanic, so next I’m thinking to look at vacuum system. There’s a fair bit of oil in the throttle body. Does the EJ have an egr valve? I can’t find that that’s for sure.

Any suggestions would be appreciated,
Thanks.

Hate to say it but typical of an EJ-DE that hasn’t been looked after properly :frowning: what has happened is the oil rings in the piston have gummed up due to infrequent oil changes so requires a rebuild more than likely and either spend the time redrilling the holes or new pistons :frowning:

5 Likes

Does these EJDE engines have a pcv valve? egr valve? all i can see is a rubber hose running from top of engine to somewhere. I owned an 03 BMW E46 318i Auto before my current Daihatsu and I used additives and thinner in the fuel tank,cleaned throttle body and pcv hoses and my BMW smoke alot less. I was told the rings might be worn in my engine (N42B20 engine) and also to replace my pcv vavle which I didnt,I just cleaned it (without removal) also I was told my valve stem seal are worn on my BMW. Unfortunatly I kept driving it (has some colling system issues) and blew the head gasket :-(.I couldnt afford to fix it. So,I thought I would buy something more reliable and easier to fix like a Daihatsu. Great on fuel too.

Hello from Brisbane!

Your on the same thought track as me 99d. I’ve done a leak down test and that’s said my rings and valves are good (phew)